Local Radio Freedom Act achieves House majority.

Five more members of the House of Representatives have signed on as cosponsors of the measure, which opposes “any new performance fee, tax, royalty, or other charge on local broadcast radio stations.” That brings the total in the House to 220, the majority plus two. In the Senate, the total stands at 25. The new cosponsors are Representatives Elizabeth Esty (D-CT), Tom Garrett (R-VA), Josh Gottheimer (D-NJ), Gregory Meeks (D-NY), and Dutch Ruppersberger (D-MD). NAB Pres. and CEO Gordon Smith noted, “We’re gratified that most House members stand with America’s hometown radio stations against a job-killing performance royalty.”