Rosenworcel and Carr confirmed; Pai delayed.

Two ready to serve; one on the back burner

The full Senate has confirmed the appointments of Jessica Rosenworcel and Brendan Carr to the FCC, but delayed voting on the renomination of Ajit Pai. The Senate action was unusual in two ways: first, Carr received the unusual benefit of being approved for two consecutive terms (finishing out Tom Wheeler’s term, through 2018, and then an additional five-year term); second, the delay of the chairman’s confirmation vote, apparently part of a package deal that ensured the confirmation of Rosenworcel and Carr by voice vote. In praising the confirmations, NAB Executive Vice President/Communications Dennis Wharton called Rosenworcel and Carr “well-versed in telecommunications issues” who “bring a wealth of experience to the commission.”