Present and prospective FCC commissioners undergo nomination scrutiny.




Chairman Ajit Pai has been renominated; Brendan Carr has been nominated; and Jessica Rosenworcel has been—what would you call it, de-denominated?—by the administration, and the Senate Commerce Committee held the requisite confirmation hearings. The questioning covered a broad range of topics, from whether Carr’s reporting to Pai in a previous situation would influence his decisions, to the appropriateness of the administration’s unusual request for Carr to be approved for two consecutive terms.