No Friends of Ours

A bipartisan Congressional quartet—Darrell Issa (R-CA), John Conyers (D-MI), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN) and Melvin Watt (D-CA)—has sent a letter to their fellow Congress people to tell them not to cosponsor the Local Radio Freedom Act. The letter is catchily titled, “The Local Freedom Radio Act Shuts down Debate, Stifles Innovation and Harms Artists,” and employs record-industry hype, like the fact that broadcast stations are “exempt from paying such royalties and can use the property of artists, musicians and music companies without their consent and without providing compensation.”

The letter concludes, “We urge you to refrain from cosponsoring this resolution because it impedes future debate, it stifles innovation, and it will continue to maintain an unfair playing field.”